Personnel

You are here

Lead-PI

view
NameInstitutionInterestsEmail
Hugh DucklowLamont Doherty Earth ObservatoryMicrobial Processeshducklow@ldeo.columbia.edu

Co-PIs

view
NameInstitutionInterestsEmail
James E ConnersSIOInformation Managementjconners@ucsd.edu
Scott DoneyU. VirginiaModelingsdoney@virginia.edu
William R FraserPolar Oceans ResearchSeabirdsbfraser@3rivers.net
Ari FriedlaenderOregon State University Marine Mammal InstituteMarine Mammalsari.friedlaender@oregonstate.edu
David JohnstonDuke UniversityMarine Mammalsdavid.johnston@duke.edu
Douglas MartinsonColumbia UniversityPhysical Oceanographydgm@ldeo.columbia.edu
Janice McDonnellRutgersEducation and Outreachmcdonnel@marine.rutgers.edu
Micheal MeredithBASPhysical Oceanographymmm@bas.ac.uk
Douglas NowacekDuke UniversityMarine Mammalsdoug.nowacek@duke.edu
Oscar SchofieldRutgers UniversityPhytoplanktonoscar@marine.rutgers.edu
Sharon StammerjohnINSTAAR, University of Colorado BoulderClimate/Sea Icesharon.stammerjohn@colorado.edu
Debbie SteinbergVIMS/WMZooplanktondebbies@vims.edu

Staff Personnel

view
NameInstitutionInterestsEmail
Joe CopeVIMS/WMZooplanktonjoecope@vims.edu
Richard IannuzziColumbia UniversityPhysical Oceanographyiannuzzi@ldeo.columbia.edu
Donna Patterson-FraserPolar Oceans ResearchSeabirds (Giant Petrel)patterdo@3rivers.net
Naomi SheltonColumbia UniversityMicrobial Biogeochemistrynshelton@ldeo.columbia.edu

Affiliated

view
NameInstitutionInterestsEmail
Linda Amaral-ZettlerMBLBacteriaamaral@mbl.edu
Kim BernardOregon State UniversityZooplankton ecology & acousticskbernard@coas.oregonstate.edu
Jeff BowmanSIOMicrobial genomicsjsbowman@ucsd.edu
Nicolas CassarDuke UniversityBiogeochemistrynicolas.cassar@duke.edu
Megan A CiminoDelawareSeabirds
Andrew ClarkeBASEcologyandrew.clarke@bas.ac.uk
Matthew CottrellUniversity of DelawareMicrobial Ecologymattcott@udel.edu
Jessica FitzsimmonsRutgersTrace Metalsjessfitz@tamu.edu
Claudine HauriUniversity of HawaiiOcean CO2 systemchauri@hawaii.edu
James Tim HollibaughUGAMicrobial Ecologyaquadoc@uga.edu
Bethan JonesPhytoplankton ecology & systematicsbethan.jones@science.oregonstate.edu
David L KirchmanUniversity of DelawareMicrobial Ecologykirchman@udel.edu
Martin A. Montes-HugoRutgers UniversitySatellite Remote Sensingmontes@marine.rutgers.edu
Andrew ReadDuke UniversityMarine Mammalsaread@duke.edu
Chris RibicUWisconsin-MadisonScale and Landscape Patternscaribic@facstaff.wisc.edu
Grace SabaRutgers Universitysaba@marine.rutgers.edu
Robert SherrellRutgers UniversityPaleoclimatology, Geochemistry, Trace Metalssherrell@imcs.marine.rutgers.edu
Grieg StewardUniversity of HawaiiMicroplankton; Viral Ecologygrieg@hawaii.edu
Mike StukelFSUParticle Export (Thorium-234)mstukel@fsu.edu
Philippe TortellUniversity of British ColumbiaBiogeochemistryptortell@eos.ubc.ca
Natasja Van GestelNorthern Arizona UniversitySoil MicrobiologyNatasja.van-Gestel@nau.edu

Graduate Students - Current

view
NameInstitutionSupervisorEmail
Kevin ArchibaldWoods Hole Oceanographic InstitutionScott Doneykarchibald@whoi.edu
Kevin BierlichDukeDave Johnston / Ari Friedlanderkevin.bierlich@duke.edu
Michael BrownRutgersOscar Schofieldmbrown@marine.rutgers.edu
Jack ConroyVIMSDeborah Steinbergjaconroy@vims.edu
Andrew CorsoVIMSDeborah Steinbergadcorso@vims.edu
Eric S ErdmannUniversity of WisconsinChris Ribic, Bill Frasereerdmann@wisc.edu
Michael J GarzioRutgers UniversityOscar Schofieldmgarzio@marine.rutgers.edu
Greg LarsenDukeDave Johnston / Ari Friedlandergregory.larsen@duke.edu
Zuchuan LiDukeNicolas Cassarzuchuan.li@duke.edu
Darren McKeeColumbiaDoug Martinsondcm2117@columbia.edu
Travis MilesRutgers UniversityOscar Schofieldtnmiles@eden.rutgers.edu
Michelle ModestUCSCAri Friedlandermmodest@ucsc.edu
Carly MorenoUNCAdrian Marchetticmmoreno@live.unc.edu
Schuyler NardelliRutgersOscar Schofieldscn50@marine.rutgers.edu
Ross NicholsUCSCAri Friedlanderrosscnichols@gmail.com
Logan PallinOSU/UCSCAri Friedlanderlpallin@ucsc.edu
Lori M PriceVIMSDebbie Steinberglmprice@vims.edu
Kaylan RandolphUCONNHeidi Dierssenkaylan.randolph@uconn.edu
Tyler RohrMIT-WHOIScott Doneytrohr@whoi.edu
Christina SchultzMIT-WHOIScott Doneycschultz@whoi.edu
Alison SmallAlex Poulton & Bethan Jonesalisonsm@earth.ox.ac.uk
Patricia ThibodeauVIMSDeborah Steinbergpsthibodeau@vims.edu
Rebecca TrinhColumbiaHugh Ducklowrtrinh@ldeo.columbia.edu

Post-Docs - Current

view
NameInstitutionInterestsEmail
Amber AnnettRutgersTrace MetalsA.L.Annett@soton.ac.uk
Shelly BenchStanford UniversityPhytoplankton diversityshellierb@gmail.com
Jennifer R. BrumUniversity of ArizonaMarine Virusesjbrum@email.arizona.edu
Rachel EvelethBowdoinBiogeochemistry & modelsreveleth@bowdoin.edu
Sian HenleyUniv of Edinburgh/BASC&N isotope tracerss.f.henley@ed.ac.uk
Maria KavanaughWoods Hole Oceanographic InstitutionMarine Chemistry & Geochemistrymkavanaugh@whoi.edu
Hyewon KimUVABiogeochemistry & modelshkim2768@gmail.com
Yajuan LinDukeMicrobial drivers of NCPlinyajuan@gmail.com
Ben WeinsteinOSUCetaceansweinsteb@oregonstate.edu

Karin Bjorkman

Advisor: Karl;LTER associated
Degree: PhD
Thesis: Nutrient dynamics in the North Pacific subtropical gyre - Phosphorus fluxes in the upper oligotrophic ocean.
Year: 1999
Institution:
bjorkman@soest.hawaii.edu


Mike Byers

Advisor: Gautier/Smith
Degree: Masters
Thesis: Computation of Net Primary Production from satellite derived data
Year: 1994
Institution: UCSB
mbyers@west.raytheon.com


John Carlson

Advisor: Fraser
Degree:
Thesis: Long-term trends in Adelie Penguin populations in the vicinity of Palmer Station, Antarctic Peninsula: The effects of variability in the breeding habitat
Year: 1995
Institution:


Christopher Carrillo

Advisor: Karl
Degree:
Thesis: Processes controlling carbon dioxide in seawater
Year: 2002
Institution:
chriscarri@yahoo.com


Filipa Carvalho

Advisor: Oscar Schofield, Josh Kohut
Degree: Ph. D
Thesis: Coupled physical and phytoplankton dynamics in coastal Antarctic
Year: 2017
Institution: Rutgers
filipa@marine.rutgers.edu


Erik Chapman

Advisor: Eileen Hoffman, Bill Fraser
Degree: PhD
Thesis: A Study of Physical and Biological Factors Influencing Chick Growth and Adult Foraging Energetics Among Adélie Penguins (Pygoscelis adeliae) on the West Antarctic Peninsula
Year: 2008
Institution: Old Dominion
erik.chapman@unh.edu


Amy L. Chiuchiolo

Advisor: Ducklow
Degree: Masters
Thesis: Persistent Organic pollutants at the base of the Antarctic marine foodweb
Year: 2003
Institution:
achiuchiolo@montana.edu


James Christian

Advisor: Karl
Degree: PhD
Thesis: Biochemical mechanisms of bacterial utilization of dissolved & particulate organic matter in the upper ocean
Year: 1995
Institution:


Matthew Church

Advisor: Karl/Ducklow
Degree: PhD
Thesis: Microbial dynamics and biogeochemistry in the North Pacific Subtropical Gyre
Year: 2003
Institution:
mjchurch@hawaii.edu


Megan A Cimino

Advisor: Matt Oliver, Bill Fraser
Degree: Ph. D
Thesis: Local- and large-scale effects of climate change on Pygoscelis penguin habitat and demography
Year: 2016
Institution: Delaware


Nicole Couto

Advisor: Oscar Schofield
Degree: Ph. D
Thesis: Circulation and heat transport on the West Antarctic Peninsula continental shelf
Year: 2017
Institution: Rutgers


Robert Daniels

Advisor: Ducklow
Degree: Masters
Thesis: Inverse model analysis of plankton food webs in the North Atlantic and Western Antarctic Peninsula
Year: 2003
Institution:
robert.daniels@noaa.gov


Heidi M. Dierssen

Advisor: Smith
Degree: PhD
Thesis: Remote sensing of chlorophyll and primary production West of the Antarctic Peninsula
Year: 2000
Institution:
dierssen@icess.ucsb.edu


John Dore

Advisor: Karl
Degree: PhD
Thesis: Microbial nitrification in the marine euphotic zone: Rates and relationships with nitrite distributions, recycled production and nitrous oxide generation
Year: 2005
Institution:


Rachel Eveleth

Advisor: Nicolas Cassar
Degree: PhD
Thesis: High-Resolution In Situ Oxygen-Argon Studies of Surface Biological and Physical Processes in the Polar Oceans
Year: 2016
Institution: Bowdoin
reveleth@bowdoin.edu


Tom Frazer

Advisor: Quetin/Ross
Degree: PhD
Thesis: On the ecology of larval krill, Euphausia superba, during winter: krill - sea ice interactions
Year: 1995
Institution:
frazer@ufl.edu


Heidi Geisz

Advisor: Hugh Ducklow, Bill Fraser
Degree: Ph. D
Thesis:
Year: 2010
Institution: VIMS/WM
heidig@vims.edu


Miram R Gleiber

Advisor: Debbie Steinberg
Degree: Masters
Thesis:
Year: 2014
Institution: VIMS
mrglei@vims.edu


Kristen Gorman

Advisor: Tony Williams, Bill Fraser
Degree: PhD
Thesis: Integrative Studies of Southern Ocean Food-Webs and Pygoscelis Penguin Demography: Mechanisms of Population Response to Environmental Change
Year: 2015
Institution: Simon Fraser University, Vancouver, BC
kgorman@sfu.ca


Karen Haberman

Advisor: Quetin/Ross
Degree: PhD
Thesis: razing by the Antarctic krill, Euphausia superba: Effects of phytoplankton type & food quality on ingestion, assimilation & growth of krill
Year: 1998
Institution:
habermk@wou.edu


Phil Handley

Advisor: Smith
Degree: Masters
Thesis: Palmer LTER Basin: Variability in Water Column Physical Characteristics
Year: 1994
Institution:
phil@icess.ucsb.edu


Kuan Huang

Advisor: Michael Bender, Hugh Ducklow
Degree: Ph. D
Thesis:
Year: 2013
Institution: Princeton University
huangk@princeton.edu


Nina Karnovsky

Advisor: Fraser/Trivelpiece
Degree: Masters
Thesis: The fish component of Pygoscelid penguin diets: Implications for Resource Partitioning & ecosystem monitoring
Year: 1997
Institution:
nina.karnovsky@pomona.edu


Hyewon Kim

Advisor: Hugh Ducklow
Degree: PhD
Thesis: Microbial Interactions in Coupled Climate-Biogeochemical Systems
Year: 2017
Institution: UVA
hkim2768@gmail.com


Wendy Kozlowski

Advisor: Maria Vernet
Degree: Masters
Thesis: Pigment derived phytoplankton composition along the western Antarctic Peninsula
Year: 2008
Institution: San Diego State
wkozlowski@ucsd.edu


Cathy Lascara

Advisor: Hofmann
Degree: PhD
Thesis: Seasonal and mesoscale distribution of Antarctic krill, Euphausia superba, in relation to environmental variability
Year: 1996
Institution:
lascara@ccpo.odu.edu


Ricardo Letelier

Advisor: Karl
Degree: PhD
Thesis: Studies on the ecology of Trichodesmium spp. (Cyanophyceae) in the central north Pacific Ocean
Year: 1994
Institution:
letelier@coas.oregonstate.edu


Yawei Luo

Advisor: Hugh Ducklow
Degree: Ph. D
Thesis:
Year: 2008
Institution: MBL-Brown
yluo@whoi.edu


Catherine Luria

Advisor: Hugh Ducklow, Jeremy Rich
Degree: Ph. D
Thesis: Drivers of Microbial Diversity and Activity in Antarctic Coastal Waters
Year: 2016
Institution: Brown University
cmluria@gmail.com


Tracey Mader

Advisor: Fraser/Trivelpiece
Degree: Masters
Thesis: Temporal variation in leopard seal presence and predation near an Antarctic penguin rookery
Year: 1997
Institution:


Ken Mankoff

Advisor: Sharon Stammerjohn
Degree: Ph. D
Thesis: MULTI-SCALE INVESTIGATIONS OF SUBGLACIAL AND SUB-ICE SHELF CONDUIT HYDROLOGY
Year: 2012
Institution: UCSC


Andrea Marotti

Advisor: Ray Smith
Degree: Masters
Thesis: Southern Ocean Ice and Primary Production
Year: 1992
Institution: UCSB


Andrew M McDonnell

Advisor: Soctt Doney, Hugh Ducklow
Degree: Ph. D
Thesis:
Year: 2011
Institution: WHOI-MIT
amcdonnell@whoi.edu


Mark Moline

Advisor: Prezlin
Degree: PhD
Thesis: Variability and regulation of coastal Antarctic phytoplankton dynamics on interannual, seasonal and subseasonal time scales (1991-1994)
Year: 1996
Institution:
mmoline@polymail.calpoly.edu


Martin A. Montes-Hugo

Advisor:
Degree:
Thesis:
Year: 2009
Institution: Rutgers University
montes@marine.rutgers.edu


Kristen Myers

Advisor: Hugh Ducklow
Degree:
Thesis:
Year: 2010
Institution: MBL-Brown
kmsmeyers@vims.edu


Mrinalini Nikrad

Advisor: Dave Kirchman, Hugh Ducklow
Degree: Ph. D
Thesis:
Year: 2013
Institution: University of Delaware
nikrad@udel.edu


Stephanie Oakes

Advisor: Robin Ross, Langdon Quetin
Degree: PhD
Thesis: Winter Growth Model for Young Antarctic Krill Based on New Insights about Winter Feeding
Year: 2007
Institution: UCSB
oakes@lifesci.ucsb.edu


Stephanie Owens

Advisor: Ken Buesseler
Degree: Ph. D
Thesis:
Year: 2013
Institution: WHOI-MIT
sowens@whoi.edu


Logan Pallin

Advisor: Ari Friedlander
Degree: MSc
Thesis: Temporal Variation in the Population Demographics of Humpback Whales (Megaptera novaeangliae) Along the Western Antarctic Peninsula (WAP): Links to a Changing Ecosystem
Year: 2017
Institution: OSU/UCSC
lpallin@ucsc.edu


Karen Patterson

Advisor: Smith
Degree: PhD
Thesis: ontribution of chromophoric dissolved organic matter to attenuation of ultraviolet radiation in three contrasting coastal areas
Year: 2000
Institution:
pattersonk@navo.navy.mil


Marco Pedulli

Advisor: Robert Bisagni, Hugh Ducklow
Degree: Ph. D
Thesis:
Year: 2013
Institution: University of Massachusetts Dartmouth
mpedulli@umassd.edu


Erin Pickett

Advisor: Ari Friedlaender / William Fraser
Degree: MS
Thesis: Foraging Niche Separation of Adélie (Pygoscelis adeliae) and Gentoo (P. papua) Penguins During the Breeding Season at Palmer Station, Antarctica
Year: 2017
Institution: OSU
erin.p.pickett@gmail.com


Evan Randall-Goodwin

Advisor: Sharon Stammerjohn
Degree: Masters
Thesis: Detecting meltwater in the Amundsen Sea Polynya region, west Antarctica
Year: 2012
Institution: UCSC
emrg23@gmail.com


David Ribes

Advisor: Geoffrey Bowker
Degree: PhD
Thesis: Universal Informatics: Building Cyberinfrastructure, Interoperating the Geosciences
Year: 2006
Institution: UCSD
dribes@ucsd.edu


Michelle Rosenshield

Advisor: Fraser/Ribic
Degree: Masters
Thesis: Ecotoxicology of Amphibians in the Green Bay Watershed
Year: 1999
Institution:


Kate E Ruck

Advisor: Debbie Steinberg
Degree: Masters
Thesis:
Year: 2012
Institution: VIMS/WM
ruckke@vims.edu


Joshua Schneider

Advisor: Ross/Quetin-APIS
Degree: Masters
Thesis: The species composition of euphausiid aggregations in the eastern Ross and western Amundsen Seas
Year: 2002
Institution:
pschneider@lifesci.ucsb.edu


Caroline (Tracy) Shaw

Advisor: Quetin/Ross
Degree: Masters
Thesis: Effect of sea ice conditions on physiological maturity of female Antarctic krill (Euphausia superba Dana) west of the Antarctic Peninsula
Year: 1997
Institution:
shawtr@hotmail.com


David Smith

Advisor: Hofmann
Degree: PhD
Thesis: Modeling and Observational Studies of Sea Ice - Mixed Layer Interactions on the West Antarctic Peninsula Continental Shelf
Year: 1999
Institution:
smith@ccpo.odu.edu


Tiffany Straza

Advisor: Dave Kirchman, Hugh Ducklow
Degree: Ph. D
Thesis:
Year: 2010
Institution: University of Delaware
tstraza@gmail.com


Kirk Waters

Advisor: Smith
Degree: PhD
Thesis: Monte Carlo Modeling of the Open Ocean Light Field
Year: 1994
Institution:
waters@icess.ucsb.edu


Stephanie White

Advisor: Ross/Quetin-nonLTER
Degree: Masters
Thesis: Invertebrate community composition in rocky subtidal habitats of the Antarctic peninsula
Year: 2002
Institution:


Lynn R Yarmey

Advisor: Karen Baker
Degree:
Thesis:
Year: 2010
Institution: SIO
lyarmey@ucsd.edu


Jeff Bowman

Institution: SIO
Position: N/A
jsbowman@ucsd.edu


Alex Culley

Institution: University of Hawaii
Position: Research Scientist
aculley@hawaii.edu


Jessica Fitzsimmons

Institution: Rutgers
Position: N/A
jessfitz@tamu.edu


L. Alex Kahl

Institution: Rutgers University
Position:
alex@marine.rutgers.edu


Martin A. Montes-Hugo

Institution: Rutgers University
Position: 2005-2007
montes@marine.rutgers.edu


Martin A. Montes-Hugo

Institution: Rutgers University
Position: 2007-2009
montes@marine.rutgers.edu


Grace Saba

Institution: Rutgers University
Position: Faculty
saba@marine.rutgers.edu


Ben Saenz

Institution: University of South Florida
Position: Research Scientist
blsaenz@gmail.com


Sevrine Sailley

Institution: Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Position:
ssailley@whoi.edu


Marie Seguret

Institution: Rutgers University
Position: post graduate researcher
mseguret@marine.rutgers.edu


Mike Stukel

Institution: FSU
Position: N/A
mstukel@fsu.edu